The best DeWalt power tool batteries depend on whether you value a manageable tool, longer runtime, or compatibility with high-demand 60V equipment. My best overall pick is the 20V MAX 5.0Ah Lithium-Ion Battery 2-Pack, a practical capacity-and-quantity balance for many 20V tools. For a lighter setup, the POWERSTACK Compact 2-Pack trades capacity for less bulk, while the FLEXVOLT 6.0Ah supports both 20V and compatible 60V tools. The main tradeoffs are battery size and weight, runtime, platform fit, and whether a kit includes a charger. Read on for the full breakdown, plus guidance on choosing capacity and avoiding mismatched batteries.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
5Ah is the roundup’s practical middle ground: the 20V MAX 5.0Ah 2-Pack offers a useful balance of runtime and everyday usability, while 2Ah and 4Ah options favor lighter tools.
POWERSTACK choices split by shape and capacity: the compact pair prioritizes a smaller footprint, the 3.5Ah pair balances size and runtime, and the 5.0Ah model targets buyers wanting higher capacity in that battery family.
FLEXVOLT is about platform flexibility: the 6.0Ah and 9.0Ah batteries can serve compatible 20V and 60V tools, but their size and weight make them less attractive for every-day light-duty use.
Bulk packs suit different needs: the mixed 2Ah/4Ah kit gives a varied fleet more capacity choices, while two-battery packs simplify keeping a matched spare ready.
Kit contents can change the buying decision: the POWERSTACK Compact Starter Kit includes a charger, while several other listings are batteries only or combine a charger with higher-capacity batteries.
| DeWalt power tool batterie | Model | Compatibility | Battery type | Voltage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DEWALT 20V MAX 5.0Ah Lithium-I | DCB205-2c | — | Lithium-ion | 20V MAX |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERSTACK 3 | DCBP320-2 | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers | Lithium-ion pouch cell | 20V |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERSTACK C | DCBP034-2 | DEWALT 20V MAX tools | Lithium-ion pouch cell | 20V |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERSTACK C | DCBP034C | DEWALT 20V MAX tools | Lithium-ion pouch cell | — |
| DEWALT FLEXVOLT 20V/60V MAX 6. | DCB606 | DEWALT 20V, 60V, and 120V MAX tools and chargers | — | 20V/60V MAX; compatible with 120V MAX tools |
| DEWALT 20V MAX POWERSTACK 5.0A | DCBP520 | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers | Lithium-ion | 20 V |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 5Ah Lithium-Ion | DCB205-2 | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers | Lithium-ion | 20V |
| DEWALT FLEXVOLT 20V/60V MAX 9. | DCB609 | Compatible DEWALT 20V MAX, 60V MAX, and 120V MAX tools | Lithium-ion | 20V/60V MAX |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 4A | DCB2104 | DEWALT 20V MAX tools | — | 20 V |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 8A | DCB2108-2C | DEWALT 20V MAX tools | Lithium-ion | 20V MAX |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 8A | DCB2108 | DEWALT 20V MAX tools | Lithium-ion | 20V |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Lithium-Ion Bat | DCB324-4 | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers | Lithium-ion | 20V |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 10Ah Lithium-Io | DCB210-2 | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers; XR Power Detect tools | Lithium-ion | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR 6.0Ah Lithiu | DCB206-2 | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers | Lithium-ion | 20V |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 4A | DCB2104-2 | DEWALT 20V MAX tools | Lithium-ion | 20V |
More Details on Our Top Picks
DEWALT 20V MAX 5.0Ah Lithium-Ion Battery 2-Pack
For buyers who want two full-size 5.0Ah batteries rather than a smaller backup pair, this kit offers a practical balance of runtime and flexibility. Each battery can stay in rotation while the other is charging, and the included charger makes it a more self-contained purchase than the DCBP320-2, which lists two batteries but no charger. The standard cylindrical-cell design is less focused on compact handling than the POWERSTACK kits, so it suits general work better than tasks where a smaller battery would improve tool balance. The listing gives limited detail on specific tool compatibility, so I would verify fit for your 20V MAX tools before buying. With two batteries and a three-year limited warranty, it is a sensible choice for regular 20V MAX users who value capacity over a compact footprint.
Pros:- Two 5.0Ah batteries provide substantial capacity for longer sessions
- Includes a charger, unlike the DCBP320-2 two-battery kit
- Two batteries allow one to charge while the other is in use
- Three-year limited warranty
Cons:- Standard battery format is less compact than the POWERSTACK options
- Product details provide little information about compatible tools
- The listing’s outdoor-equipment categorization may leave tool buyers wanting clearer fit guidance
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who run tools through long work sessions and want two 5.0Ah batteries plus a charger in one kit.
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing the lightest setup for overhead work, or anyone who needs clearly documented compatibility with a specific tool.
- Model:DCB205-2c
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Capacity:5.0Ah each
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Included components:2 batteries and 1 charger
- Battery weight:1270 g
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this kit if you want two high-capacity 20V MAX batteries and a charger, and do not need the compact handling of a POWERSTACK pack.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERSTACK 3.5Ah Battery Kit, 2-Pack (DCBP320-2)
This pair suits buyers who want POWERSTACK technology in two mid-capacity packs, without moving up to larger, heavier batteries. The 3.5Ah capacity gives more reserve than the 1.7Ah DCBP034-2 compact pair, while the compact design and impact-resistant base support active jobsite use. DEWALT describes these pouch-cell batteries as delivering 50% more power and a longer lifespan than traditional cylindrical batteries; those are manufacturer claims, not a promise of extra runtime. Unlike the 5.0Ah DCB205-2c, this kit does not include a charger, and its capacity is lower, so it is not the pick for maximizing time between charges. Its advantage is a balance of maneuverability, added capacity over the smallest POWERSTACK option, and a two-battery rotation.
Pros:- Two 3.5Ah pouch-cell batteries balance capacity and compact handling
- Compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers
- Impact-resistant overmolded base
- LED charge indicator supports quick status checks
Cons:- No charger is listed as included
- Lower capacity per battery than the 5.0Ah DCB205-2c
- The claimed power and lifespan gains do not specify runtime or charge-time figures
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX users who want two compact, higher-capacity-than-1.7Ah POWERSTACK batteries for frequent tool changes or tight work areas.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need the longest possible runtime per battery or need a charger included with their purchase.
- Model:DCBP320-2
- Battery type:Lithium-ion pouch cell
- Voltage:20V
- Capacity:3.5Ah each
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers
- Battery weight:544.31 g
- Features:LED charge indicator and impact-resistant overmolded base
Our verdict“Pick this pair for compact POWERSTACK performance and more capacity than the 1.7Ah DCBP034-2, but choose a larger pack for longer uninterrupted runtime.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERSTACK Compact Lithium-Ion Batteries, 2-Pack (DCBP034-2)
When tool balance matters more than runtime, the 1.7Ah DCBP034-2 pair is the compact choice in this group. Its two lightweight POWERSTACK batteries are suited to drills, drivers, and other tools used in tight spaces or overhead, where a bulkier pack can make handling more tiring. The tradeoff is straightforward: each battery has half the listed capacity of the 3.5Ah DCBP320-2, so expect to swap or recharge more often during demanding work. Both models share pouch-cell construction, an LED charge indicator, and compatibility with DEWALT 20V MAX tools; this one favors a smaller, lighter setup over longer runtime. The listing does not provide charge-time or runtime figures, so buyers planning work around exact durations will need more information.
Pros:- Compact 1.7Ah format supports easier handling in tight spaces
- Two batteries provide a ready spare for rotation
- LED indicator shows charge status
- Overmolded base is designed to resist impact
Cons:- 1.7Ah capacity means less runtime than the 3.5Ah DCBP320-2
- Runtime and charge-time details are not provided
- No charger is listed as included
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX users who frequently work overhead or in confined spaces and want two lightweight backup batteries.
Not ideal for: Tradespeople running high-demand tools for long stretches who would benefit more from the 3.5Ah DCBP320-2 or a higher-capacity pack.
- Model:DCBP034-2
- Battery type:Lithium-ion pouch cell
- Voltage:20V
- Capacity:1.7Ah each
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools
- Battery weight:11.2 oz
- Warranty:3 years on material and workmanship
Our verdict“Choose this pair when a lightweight, compact feel matters more than the longer runtime available from the 3.5Ah POWERSTACK pair.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERSTACK Compact Battery and Charger Starter Kit (DCBP034C)
This kit is the simplest route into the compact POWERSTACK format if you own DEWALT 20V MAX tools but lack a charger: it bundles one 1.7Ah battery and a charger. That makes it more immediately useful as a starter purchase than the DCBP034-2 two-pack, which lists no charger, though the two-pack gives you a spare battery. The compact battery’s pouch-cell design, charge indicator, and impact-resistant base suit lighter-duty work and tools used in cramped areas. Its small capacity is the key compromise: buyers relying on a battery for extended or demanding jobs may prefer the 3.5Ah DCBP320-2 pair, although that kit also does not list a charger. Compatibility is limited to DEWALT 20V MAX tools, so it will not serve owners of other battery platforms.
Pros:- Includes both a compact POWERSTACK battery and a charger
- Small battery format helps with maneuverability
- LED charge indicator makes charge status easy to check
- Overmolded base is designed to withstand impact and wear
Cons:- Only one 1.7Ah battery is included
- Lower capacity than the 3.5Ah DCBP320-2 batteries
- Works only with DEWALT 20V MAX tools
Best for: New DEWALT 20V MAX tool owners who need a charger and a compact battery for lighter tasks or tight work areas.
Not ideal for: Users who already have a charger and want two batteries, or those seeking long runtime for demanding tools.
- Model:DCBP034C
- Included:Charger and DCBP034 compact battery
- Battery voltage:20V
- Battery capacity:1.7Ah
- Battery type:Lithium-ion pouch cell
- Battery weight:11.2 oz
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools
- Features:LED charge indicator and impact-resistant overmolded base
Our verdict“Buy this starter kit if you need a DEWALT 20V MAX charger and a compact battery, but choose a two-pack or higher-capacity option if runtime is your priority.”
DEWALT FLEXVOLT 20V/60V MAX 6.0Ah Lithium-Ion Battery (DCB606)
The DCB606 stands apart from the 20V-only batteries here because FLEXVOLT changes voltage automatically for compatible DEWALT 20V and 60V MAX tools, with compatibility also listed for 120V MAX tools. That makes it a useful bridge for owners who work across DEWALT platforms, rather than a straightforward 20V replacement battery. Its 6.0Ah capacity is specified for 20V tools, giving it more capacity than the 5.0Ah DCB205-2c, while the 2.3-pound weight and single-battery package make it less suited to buyers who prioritize a light, inexpensive-to-carry spare pair. An LED display helps check charge status, and the single-piece cell holder is designed for durability. Confirm compatibility with the exact tool and charger before purchase.
Pros:- Automatically changes voltage for compatible DEWALT MAX platforms
- 6.0Ah capacity for 20V MAX tools
- LED state-of-charge display
- Single-piece cell holder is designed for durable construction
Cons:- At 2.3 lb, it is heavier than the compact POWERSTACK batteries
- Only one battery is included
- Compatibility is limited to DEWALT MAX tools and chargers
Best for: DEWALT owners who use compatible 20V and 60V MAX tools and want one battery platform across both.
Not ideal for: Buyers with only 20V MAX tools who want a lighter battery, a two-pack, or a charger included.
- Model:DCB606
- Battery chemistry:Lithium-ion
- Voltage:20V/60V MAX; compatible with 120V MAX tools
- Capacity:6.0Ah for 20V tools
- Quantity:1 battery
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V, 60V, and 120V MAX tools and chargers
- Weight:2.3 lb
- Charge indicator:LED state-of-charge display
Our verdict“Choose the FLEXVOLT DCB606 if you share batteries across compatible DEWALT voltage platforms; for 20V-only compact use, the POWERSTACK options are a better fit.”
DEWALT 20V MAX POWERSTACK 5.0Ah Lithium-Ion Battery (DCBP520)
I’d pick the POWERSTACK 5.0Ah for a DEWALT 20V MAX owner who wants one higher-output battery without buying a multipack. Its pouch-cell design is claimed to provide up to 50% more power and work per charge than traditional cylindrical cells, along with a claimed 2X lifespan. Those are manufacturer claims, not a guarantee of the same results across every tool or job. Compared with the DCB205-2 5Ah two-pack, this gives you the POWERSTACK design in a single battery, but not a second pack for rotation. The rubber overmolded base and fuel gauge add practical protection and a quick charge check. The tradeoff is that the supplied information lists no warranty, and buyers seeking the most runtime per pack should look at the 8Ah options instead.
Pros:- Pouch-cell design is claimed to deliver up to 50% more power and work per charge
- Claimed 2X lifespan compared with traditional cylindrical-cell batteries
- Compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers
- Rubber overmolded base and 3-LED charge indicator
Cons:- Includes one battery, unlike the DCB205-2 two-pack
- No warranty is listed in the supplied product information
- A 5Ah capacity offers less runtime per pack than the 8Ah options
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who want one 5Ah battery with a higher-output pouch-cell design for demanding tools.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need two batteries for uninterrupted work or longer runtime from each pack; the DCB205-2 provides two standard 5Ah batteries.
- Model:DCBP520
- Voltage:20 V
- Capacity:5.0 Ah
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers
- Charge indicator:3-LED fuel gauge
- Battery weight:725 g
- Quantity:1
Our verdict“Choose this single POWERSTACK if you value its claimed output and lifespan gains more than getting a second battery or an 8Ah capacity.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 5Ah Lithium-Ion Battery 2-Pack (DCB205-2)
The DCB205-2 is a straightforward choice when keeping a charged spare matters more than buying into newer cell designs. You get two 5Ah batteries, each with an LED charge indicator, so one can work while the other is ready to swap in. The listed no-memory and very low self-discharge characteristics also suit people who keep batteries in rotation rather than using them every day. Compared with the single POWERSTACK 5.0Ah DCBP520, this set gives you twice the battery count and a stated 3-year limited warranty, but it does not carry the POWERSTACK’s claims of extra power and lifespan. Its main compromise is platform lock-in: these packs are for DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers, not other systems. I’d favor it for dependable capacity and a spare, not for the highest-output option.
Pros:- Includes two 5Ah batteries for swapping between tasks
- LED charge indicator on each battery
- No memory and virtually no self-discharge, according to the product description
- Includes a 3-year limited warranty
Cons:- Compatible only with DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers
- Lacks the POWERSTACK design and its stated power and lifespan claims
- Each battery is 1.4 lb, adding weight when carried as a spare
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX users who regularly switch batteries during a workday and want two matching 5Ah packs with a listed warranty.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking POWERSTACK cell technology or a battery that works across DEWALT 60V MAX tools; consider the POWERSTACK or FLEXVOLT options instead.
- Model:DCB205-2
- Battery count:2
- Capacity:5Ah each
- Voltage:20V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers
- Battery weight:1.4 lb each
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the DCB205-2 if two familiar 5Ah packs and a stated warranty matter more than POWERSTACK performance claims.”
DEWALT FLEXVOLT 20V/60V MAX 9.0Ah Lithium-Ion Battery (DCB609)
The FLEXVOLT DCB609 is the most versatile pick here for someone who owns compatible DEWALT tools across voltage platforms. It automatically changes voltage for compatible 20V MAX, 60V MAX, and 120V MAX tools, while its 9Ah capacity targets longer work between charges. That flexibility separates it from the 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 8Ah options, which are described for 20V MAX tools only. The advantage comes with a physical tradeoff: at 2.8 pounds, this is heavier than a compact 20V pack and may feel cumbersome on tools used overhead or for extended periods. It also remains a DEWALT-platform battery, and 60V or 120V use depends on tool compatibility. I’d choose it for mixed-voltage ownership, not simply as a lighter replacement for a standard 20V battery.
Pros:- Automatically changes voltage for compatible DEWALT 20V MAX, 60V MAX, and 120V MAX tools
- 9.0Ah capacity supports longer work between charges
- Compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX chargers
- Includes a 3-year limited warranty
Cons:- At 2.8 pounds, it is heavier than the listed 20V POWERPACK 4Ah battery
- 60V and 120V operation depends on compatible DEWALT tools
- One battery is included, rather than a pair for rotation
Best for: DEWALT owners with compatible 20V MAX and 60V MAX tools who want one battery platform option with 9Ah capacity.
Not ideal for: People who use only compact 20V tools or prioritize low weight; the POWERPACK 4Ah is a lighter-capacity alternative, while the 8Ah POWERPACK targets longer 20V runtime.
- Model:DCB609
- Capacity:9.0Ah
- Voltage:20V/60V MAX
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Compatibility:Compatible DEWALT 20V MAX, 60V MAX, and 120V MAX tools
- Charger compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX chargers
- Item weight:2.8 pounds
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Pick the DCB609 if you need a single battery that can serve compatible DEWALT 20V and higher-voltage tools and accept the added weight.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium-Ion Battery
The XR POWERPACK 4Ah suits DEWALT 20V MAX users who want a claimed power boost without carrying one of the heavier, higher-capacity packs. Its design is stated to deliver 50% more power than traditional cylindrical batteries; the overmolded base helps protect against impact, and an LED indicator makes charge checks quick. Compared with the POWERSTACK 5.0Ah DCBP520, this battery has 1Ah less listed capacity, while both descriptions make a 50% more-power claim. The supplied information does not identify the POWERPACK’s cell type or provide a warranty, so buyers have fewer details for comparing longevity and coverage. It is also a single 20V MAX battery, unlike the two-pack DCB205-2. I’d choose it when a balance of capacity and manageable pack size matters more than maximum runtime or cross-voltage flexibility.
Pros:- Claimed to deliver 50% more power than traditional cylindrical batteries
- 4Ah capacity balances runtime and pack size
- Overmolded base helps resist impact
- LED state-of-charge indicator
Cons:- Only one battery is included
- Compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX tools only
- The supplied data does not list a warranty or specific battery cell type
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX users who want a single POWERPACK with more capacity than compact packs but less bulk than an 8Ah battery.
Not ideal for: People who need a spare battery, the longer runtime of an 8Ah pack, or compatibility with DEWALT 60V MAX tools.
- Model:DCB2104
- Voltage:20 V
- Capacity:4 Ah
- Amperage:4 A
- Battery quantity:1
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools
- Item weight:1.3 pounds
- Dimensions:5.73 x 2.72 x 5.08 inches
Our verdict“Choose this POWERPACK for a single mid-capacity 20V MAX battery with a stated power advantage, but look to an 8Ah pack for longer runtime.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 8Ah Lithium-Ion Batteries, 2-Pack with Charger
For 20V MAX users who need extended runtime and a charged spare, this XR POWERPACK 8Ah two-pack combines two high-capacity batteries with a charger. Each pack is described as delivering 50% more power and a longer lifespan than traditional cylindrical batteries, with an overmolded base to help resist impact. Compared with the single FLEXVOLT DCB609 9Ah, this set gives you two batteries for rotation and includes a charger, but it lacks FLEXVOLT’s stated compatibility with higher-voltage tools. The 8Ah capacity favors longer jobs over a light setup, and the supplied data does not specify the charger model or a warranty. I’d put this ahead of a single 4Ah POWERPACK when runtime and backup capacity take priority, but not for users who mainly want a compact battery for smaller tools.
Pros:- Two 8Ah batteries provide high capacity and a spare for rotation
- Includes a charger
- Batteries are described as delivering 50% more power than traditional cylindrical batteries
- Overmolded bases help resist impact
Cons:- Designed for DEWALT 20V MAX tools, not the stated 60V MAX compatibility of FLEXVOLT
- High-capacity batteries may be cumbersome for users prioritizing a lighter setup
- Supplied product information does not specify the charger model or warranty
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX users doing long work sessions who want two high-capacity batteries and a charger in one set.
Not ideal for: Owners of compatible DEWALT 60V MAX tools, or users who prioritize lighter batteries over runtime; the FLEXVOLT DCB609 serves cross-voltage tools, while the POWERPACK 4Ah is the smaller-capacity choice.
- Model:DCB2108-2C
- Battery count:2
- Capacity:8Ah each
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools
- Included accessory:Charger
- Item weight:4 pounds
Our verdict“Choose this set if long runtime, two batteries, and an included charger matter more than a lighter pack or cross-voltage compatibility.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 8Ah Power Tool Battery (DCB2108)
The 8Ah POWERPACK is the choice here when a demanding 20V MAX tool needs extended runtime without swapping batteries as often. DEWALT says its POWERPACK design provides 50% more power and longer life than traditional cylindrical batteries; the overmolded base also adds impact resistance for rough jobsite handling. Compared with the DCB2104-2 4Ah POWERPACK two-pack, this battery offers twice the capacity per pack, but you get only one battery and carry more weight on the tool. Its LED charge indicator helps with swap planning, though it does not make the pack lighter. I’d choose it for high-demand work where fewer interruptions matter more than a compact setup; for lighter tools or frequent overhead work, a lower-capacity option is easier to handle.
Pros:- 8Ah capacity supports longer work intervals than the 4Ah POWERPACK
- Designed to provide 50% more power than traditional cylindrical batteries
- Overmolded base is built for impact resistance
- LED indicator displays charge status
Cons:- The 2.2-pound listed weight adds heft to a tool
- One battery is included, unlike the 4Ah POWERPACK two-pack
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners running demanding tools who want long runtime from one battery and fewer mid-task swaps.
Not ideal for: Users prioritizing light tool balance, or anyone who wants two batteries in the box for alternating between work and charging.
- Model:DCB2108
- Capacity:8Ah
- Voltage:20V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Quantity:1 battery
- Listed weight:2.2 lb
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools
- Charge indicator:LED state-of-charge indicator
Our verdict“Choose this single 8Ah POWERPACK when runtime and power matter more than tool weight or having a spare battery.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Lithium-Ion Battery 4-Pack, 2Ah and 4Ah (DCB324-4)
This four-battery set is the most flexible choice for a DEWALT 20V MAX owner building a small rotation: it includes two compact 2Ah packs and two 4Ah XR packs. The smaller batteries suit lighter tools and reduce the burden of carrying a larger pack, while the 4Ah units offer more runtime for longer tasks. Compared with the DCB206-2 6Ah two-pack, this bundle trades maximum runtime per battery for more packs and a useful mix of sizes. Each battery has an LED fuel gauge, and the set is compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers. The compromise is that the 2Ah packs need more frequent swaps in power-hungry tools, and the 4.6-pound total item weight means this is a bundle to distribute across a kit, not carry as one load.
Pros:- Four batteries provide a ready rotation across multiple tools
- Two capacity sizes suit both lighter tools and longer tasks
- LED fuel gauges show charge status
- Compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers
Cons:- The 2Ah batteries offer less runtime than the included 4Ah packs
- The 4.6-pound item weight makes the full set less convenient to carry together
Best for: New DEWALT 20V MAX owners or multi-tool users who want compact batteries for lighter tasks and larger packs for longer sessions.
Not ideal for: Buyers whose main tools draw heavily on battery capacity and who would rather have fewer, higher-capacity packs.
- Model:DCB324-4
- Battery count:4
- Included capacities:Two 2Ah and two 4Ah XR batteries
- Voltage:20V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Item weight:4.6 lb
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Pick this set to equip several 20V MAX tools with a practical mix of compact and longer-running batteries.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 10Ah Lithium-Ion Battery 2-Pack (DCB210-2)
For buyers who put runtime ahead of a light setup, this pair offers 10Ah per battery and up to 200Wh of capacity per pack. Two batteries make it easier to keep one working while the other is charged, a useful advantage over the single 8Ah DCB2108 POWERPACK. Each pack has a three-LED fuel gauge, and the set works with DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers, including XR Power Detect tools. The tradeoff is size and weight: high-capacity packs can make a tool less comfortable to hold, especially during overhead or precision work. The supplied data also lists an unusual 120V voltage alongside 20A; buyers should confirm the product labeling if voltage details matter to their application. This set makes most sense for long sessions where battery changes interrupt work.
Pros:- Two 10Ah batteries provide substantial capacity for long work periods
- Up to 200Wh capacity per battery is specified
- Three-LED fuel gauges help track remaining charge
- Compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX and XR Power Detect tools
Cons:- High-capacity batteries add weight and bulk to tools
- The supplied voltage specification is inconsistent with the 20V MAX description and merits verification
Best for: Contractors and serious DIY users running compatible 20V MAX tools for extended sessions who want a two-battery rotation.
Not ideal for: Users focused on compact, lightweight tools or those who rarely need more runtime than a smaller pack provides.
- Model:DCB210-2
- Capacity:10Ah each; up to 200Wh each
- Listed voltage:120V
- Listed amperage:20A
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Item weight:4.9 lb
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers; XR Power Detect tools
- Charge indicator:Three-LED fuel gauge
Our verdict“Choose this two-pack when extended runtime and a spare matter more than keeping tools light and compact.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 6.0Ah Lithium-Ion Battery Pack, 2-Pack
At 6Ah per battery, this pair sits between the mixed-capacity DCB324-4 set and the larger 10Ah DCB210-2 packs. That middle ground gives users more capacity per battery than the 4Ah options without committing to the highest-capacity format. The two-pack also supports a simple work-and-charge rotation, while each three-LED gauge offers a quick charge check. DEWALT lists a 60-minute charge time, which may mean a longer wait than some users want if both batteries run low close together. These packs are compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers, with no memory and virtually no self-discharge listed. I’d favor them for general-purpose work where runtime matters but 10Ah batteries would be more weight and capacity than needed.
Pros:- Two matching 6Ah batteries support a dependable rotation
- More capacity per battery than the 4Ah POWERPACK pair
- Three-LED fuel gauges show charge level
- No memory and virtually no self-discharge are listed
Cons:- Listed charge time is 60 minutes
- Less capacity per battery than the 10Ah DCB210-2 pair
Best for: 20V MAX owners who want two same-capacity batteries for a steady rotation across everyday tools.
Not ideal for: Users who need the longest possible runtime between swaps, or who want compact low-capacity packs for lightweight tools.
- Model:DCB206-2
- Capacity:6Ah each
- Voltage:20V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers
- Charge time:60 minutes
- Charge indicator:3-LED fuel gauge
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this pair for a balanced 20V MAX setup that needs solid runtime without stepping up to 10Ah packs.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 4Ah Lithium-Ion Batteries, 2-Pack (DCB2104-2)
This two-pack brings POWERPACK construction to a more manageable 4Ah capacity, making it a better everyday fit than the single 8Ah DCB2108 for users who value having a spare. DEWALT says the design provides 50% more power and longer life than traditional cylindrical batteries; the overmolded bases are built to handle impacts, and LED indicators show charge status. Compared with the DCB206-2 6Ah pair, these packs offer less capacity per battery, so expect more frequent swaps in demanding tools. In exchange, the 4Ah format avoids carrying the largest batteries in this group. Both packs work with DEWALT 20V MAX tools, but the supplied compatibility information does not list other DEWALT platforms. This is a sensible choice for users who want a durable matched pair without chasing maximum runtime.
Pros:- Two batteries allow a working-and-charging rotation
- POWERPACK design is advertised to provide 50% more power than traditional cylindrical batteries
- Overmolded bases are designed for impact resistance
- LED indicators show state of charge
Cons:- 4Ah capacity means less runtime per battery than the 6Ah DCB206-2 pair
- Listed compatibility is limited to DEWALT 20V MAX tools
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who want two durable batteries for everyday jobs and prefer a spare over maximum capacity per pack.
Not ideal for: Users running high-draw tools for long stretches who would benefit more from the 6Ah or 10Ah options.
- Model:DCB2104-2
- Capacity:4Ah each
- Voltage:20V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Item weight:2.7 lb
- Compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX tools
- Charge indicator:LED state-of-charge indicator
Our verdict“Choose this pair for everyday 20V MAX work when POWERPACK construction and a spare battery matter more than maximum runtime.”
How We Picked
I ranked these batteries around the decisions that matter when matching a pack to DeWalt tools: platform compatibility, capacity, handling, and kit contents. Higher amp-hour figures can support longer work between swaps, but they often bring more bulk and weight; compact packs may feel better on drills or overhead tools but need more frequent changes under heavy demand. FLEXVOLT models earned a distinct role for buyers with compatible 60V equipment, rather than an automatic advantage for every 20V owner.
The order reflects how broadly useful each option is, not a claim that one battery suits every tool. I gave priority to versatile everyday capacities and useful multi-battery bundles, then placed more specialized compact, high-capacity, FLEXVOLT, and mixed-capacity choices where their tradeoffs are clearer. Charger inclusion, pair or pack format, and the likely needs of a growing tool collection also informed the ranking. I did not treat amp-hour capacity alone as a measure of performance, and buyers should check their tool’s battery requirements and listing contents before choosing.
| DeWalt power tool batterie | Battery type | Compatibility |
|---|---|---|
| DEWALT 20V MAX 5.0Ah Lithium-I | Lithium-ion | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERSTACK 3 | Lithium-ion pouch cell | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERSTACK C | Lithium-ion pouch cell | DEWALT 20V MAX tools |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERSTACK C | Lithium-ion pouch cell | DEWALT 20V MAX tools |
| DEWALT FLEXVOLT 20V/60V MAX 6. | — | DEWALT 20V, 60V, and 120V MAX tools and chargers |
| DEWALT 20V MAX POWERSTACK 5.0A | Lithium-ion | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 5Ah Lithium-Ion | Lithium-ion | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers |
| DEWALT FLEXVOLT 20V/60V MAX 9. | Lithium-ion | Compatible DEWALT 20V MAX, 60V MAX, and 120V MAX tools |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 4A | — | DEWALT 20V MAX tools |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 8A | Lithium-ion | DEWALT 20V MAX tools |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 8A | Lithium-ion | DEWALT 20V MAX tools |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Lithium-Ion Bat | Lithium-ion | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 10Ah Lithium-Io | Lithium-ion | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers; XR Power Detect tools |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR 6.0Ah Lithiu | Lithium-ion | DEWALT 20V MAX tools and chargers |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 4A | Lithium-ion | DEWALT 20V MAX tools |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best DeWalt Power Tool Batteries
Battery shopping works best when you start with the tools you already own, then decide how much weight and runtime you can tolerate. These broader factors can help you choose among the lineup’s compact, standard, high-capacity, FLEXVOLT, and kit options.
Match the Battery Platform to Your Tools
Start by checking the battery platform specified for each tool, not just the brand name on the pack. Many batteries in this roundup are 20V MAX, while FLEXVOLT models can serve compatible 20V and 60V equipment. That flexibility does not mean every battery works with every tool or that every combination delivers the same use case. If your collection is entirely 20V, a FLEXVOLT pack may add size without giving you a benefit you use. Before buying a bundle, confirm compatibility in the tool and battery documentation, especially if you are adding a 60V tool or replacing a pack in an older kit.
Choose Capacity Around the Work, Not the Biggest Number
Amp-hours describe stored capacity, but a larger number is not automatically the best match for a particular job. A high-capacity battery can reduce interruptions on demanding tasks, while a smaller pack may make a drill or impact driver easier to control for extended periods. Think about how long each tool typically runs between breaks and whether you can keep a spare charged. Buyers often overspend on large packs for occasional light work, then find the added bulk inconvenient. A mix of capacities can be more useful than making every battery in a collection the largest available.
Factor Battery Weight Into Tool Handling
The battery sits at the base of the tool, so its size can change balance as well as total weight. That difference is especially noticeable when working overhead, on a ladder, or with a compact drill in tight spaces. For those jobs, a smaller or compact battery may be worth more frequent swaps. On a stationary or ground-level task, a larger pack can be easier to live with if it stretches time between changes. If possible, compare the battery’s dimensions and weight with the tool’s intended use rather than judging the pack by capacity alone.
Decide Whether a Pair or Mixed-Capacity Bundle Fits
A two-pack gives you a straightforward spare strategy: one battery can run the tool while the other is ready for use. A mixed-capacity assortment can make more sense when a household or jobsite has both compact tools and longer-running equipment. The common mistake is choosing a bundle solely by the number of batteries without thinking about how each capacity will be used. If all your tools have similar demands, matched packs are easier to rotate. If their jobs vary, different capacities let you avoid carrying a large battery when a lighter one is enough.
Check Charger Inclusion and Charging Needs
Some options in this lineup are battery-only, while select kits include a charger. If you already own a compatible charger, paying for another may add little value; if you are starting a DeWalt collection, a charger-included kit can save a separate purchase. Also consider how many packs you need ready for a full day of work and how quickly your charging routine can replenish them. A larger battery can take longer to recharge, depending on the charger and conditions. Read the package contents carefully, since similar product names can refer to different bundle formats.
Pay for FLEXVOLT or POWERSTACK Features Only When They Fit
FLEXVOLT is most compelling when you own compatible 60V tools as well as 20V equipment; otherwise, its cross-platform role may not justify carrying a larger pack. POWERSTACK models give buyers a choice across compact and higher-capacity formats, but those differences matter only if their form and capacity suit the tools in use. Avoid assuming that a newer battery family will improve every tool in the same way. Check the manufacturer’s compatibility information and prioritize a battery’s fit, capacity, and handling for your own tasks. A simpler standard 20V pack can be the more sensible choice for a 20V-only collection.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a FLEXVOLT battery in a 20V MAX DeWalt tool?
FLEXVOLT batteries are designed to work with compatible DeWalt 20V MAX tools as well as compatible 60V tools, but verify the exact tool and battery compatibility before use. The cross-platform benefit matters most if your collection includes both systems. For a 20V-only user, a standard 20V pack may be easier to handle and more appropriate for everyday tasks. Check the tool manual and product specifications rather than relying on voltage labels alone. Also account for the battery’s added size and weight when choosing it for compact or overhead work.
Should I choose a 5Ah battery or a compact POWERSTACK battery?
Choose based on the balance between runtime and handling you need, not the battery family name alone. A 5Ah pack is a stronger fit when fewer battery changes matter, while a compact POWERSTACK option suits tools where a smaller footprint and lighter feel are priorities. Compact packs can mean more frequent swaps during demanding work. If your tools cover both roles, keeping one compact battery and one higher-capacity pack can be more useful than choosing only one type. Confirm that the chosen battery is compatible with your specific tools.
Is a high-capacity battery a good choice for a drill or impact driver?
It can be useful if the tool sees sustained work and longer intervals between swaps matter more than weight. For occasional drilling, overhead tasks, or work in cramped spaces, a smaller pack may be easier to handle and less tiring. Battery capacity alone does not tell you how balanced the tool will feel in your hand. Consider the job duration, tool size, and whether a spare battery is available. Many buyers will get more flexibility from keeping a smaller pack for light work and a larger one for demanding tasks.
Is a battery-and-charger kit worthwhile if I already own DeWalt batteries?
It depends on whether you need another charger and whether your current batteries cover the tools you use. If your existing charger is compatible and your battery rotation is working, a battery-only pack may be a better fit. A charger-included kit can make more sense when setting up a new collection or adding charging capacity for several workers. Check exactly what the kit includes, since a product name may not make every bundle detail obvious. Compare the added convenience with the equipment you already own before choosing.
When should I buy a mixed-capacity battery pack instead of matched batteries?
A mixed-capacity bundle is useful when your tools have different handling and runtime needs. Smaller packs can suit drills and compact tools, while larger ones can serve equipment that runs for longer stretches. Matched batteries are simpler to rotate if your tools have similar demands or you want a consistent spare setup. Think about which tools you use most and whether the different capacities would get regular use. A bundle is less helpful if one size will sit unused or cannot serve your main tools.
Conclusion
For most 20V MAX owners, my best overall choice is the 5.0Ah Lithium-Ion 2-Pack: it offers a practical everyday capacity with a spare ready to rotate. The best value for a mixed tool collection is the 2Ah and 4Ah four-pack, since its varied capacities can serve both lighter and longer-running tasks. For buyers seeking a higher-capacity option, the best premium-style pick is the XR POWERPACK 8Ah, while the FLEXVOLT 9.0Ah suits those with compatible 60V tools and a real need for extended capacity. Beginners starting without charging gear should look at the POWERSTACK Compact Starter Kit, and buyers focused on lighter tool handling should choose the compact POWERSTACK pair. Match platform and handling to your tools first; choose more capacity only when longer runtime earns its added bulk.


















