The best DeWalt power tools depend on whether you need a single tool or a battery-ready kit. My best overall pick is the 20V MAX XR Hammer Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit, a strong starting point for two everyday drilling and fastening tasks, while the 5-Tool 20V MAX Combo Kit suits buyers who want more tools at once. For focused repair work, the 4V Cordless Screwdriver is easier to handle than a full-size drill. The main tradeoffs are kit breadth versus tool quality, included batteries versus tool-only flexibility, and compact convenience versus capacity for demanding work. Read on for how the 15 options compare and which setup best matches your projects.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- A drill-and-impact-driver combo is the most adaptable starting point: the XR hammer drill kit adds hammer-drilling capability, while the standard and brushless combos offer simpler routes for everyday drilling and fastening.
- Large kits trade convenience for commitment: the 9- and 10-tool kits cover more tasks in one purchase, but buyers should check whether they will use the included tools and whether the battery capacity suits their workload.
- Tool-only picks make more sense for existing 20V MAX owners: the impact driver, oscillating tools, blower, sander, and angle grinder may be easier to justify when compatible batteries and a charger are already on hand.
- The two oscillating multi-tools serve overlapping jobs: the DCS356D1 is a kit with a battery and charger, while the DCS356B is a bare tool for buyers who already have the platform essentials.
- Specialized tools solve narrow problems better than broad kits: the 4V screwdriver favors light fastening, the blower handles light cleanup, and the router-sander-jigsaw kit targets woodworking tasks rather than general repairs.
| DeWalt power tool | Model | Voltage |
|---|---|---|
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3- | DCF845B | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | DCD771C2 | — |
| DEWALT 5-Tool 20V MAX Cordless | DCK551D1M1 | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Cordles | DCK1021D2 | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Osci | DCS356D1 | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless | — | 20V MAX |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Hammer Drill | — | 20V |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Blower | — | 20V |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Co | DCS356B | — |
| DEWALT 4V Cordless Screwdriver | — | 4V |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Orbital Sander | DCW210B | 20V MAX |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | — | 20V MAX |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 3-Tool Combo Ki | DCK307D1P1 | 20V MAX |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 4.5-I | DCG413B | 20 volts |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordl | — | 20V MAX |
More Details on Our Top Picks
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-Speed Impact Driver, 1/4-Inch (DCF845B), Tool Only
The DCF845B is the focused pick for buyers who drive lots of screws and want more control than a basic impact driver provides. Its three speed settings and variable-speed trigger help tailor fastening to the material, while the brushless motor delivers up to 1,825 in-lbs of torque and 3,400 RPM for demanding jobs. Compared with the DCD771C2 drill driver, it is better suited to repetitive fastening, but it does not replace a drill for general hole-making. The integrated three-LED light is useful when the fastener sits in a shadowed corner. The main catch is that this is a tool-only purchase: buyers without compatible 20V MAX batteries and a charger need to add those separately.
Pros:- Brushless motor supports demanding fastening work
- Three speed settings add control across different tasks
- Variable-speed trigger allows fine adjustment while driving
- Three-LED work light helps illuminate the fastener area
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included
- Specialized for fastening rather than serving as a general drill driver
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who regularly fasten long screws or work across materials that call for adjustable speed.
Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers who need a complete kit, or shoppers looking for one tool to handle both drilling and fastening.
- Model:DCF845B
- Battery platform:20V MAX
- Drive size:1/4 inch
- Motor:Brushless
- Torque:1,825 in-lbs
- Maximum speed:3,400 RPM
- Speed settings:3
- Included accessory:Belt hook
Our verdict“Choose the DCF845B if you already own 20V MAX batteries and want a powerful impact driver with useful speed control.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver Set (DCD771C2)
For a homeowner assembling a first cordless setup, the DCD771C2 is the more ready-to-work choice than the tool-only DCF845B: it includes two batteries, a charger, and a contractor bag. Its two-speed transmission and 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck cover routine drilling and screwdriving in wood, plastic, and light metal, while the compact build helps in cabinets and other tight spots. The 300 UWO motor output suits everyday repairs, but this is not a substitute for a hammer drill when concrete or masonry is involved. Compared with the five-tool DCK551D1M1 kit, this set is much narrower in scope; that is an advantage for buyers who mainly need a drill, but a limitation for projects requiring saws or specialty tools. Its 1.3Ah batteries also favor lighter work over extended demanding sessions.
Pros:- Includes two batteries, charger, and contractor bag
- Compact, lightweight design suits tight work areas
- Two speed ranges support drilling and screwdriving
- 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck accommodates a broad range of bits
Cons:- Not suitable for concrete or masonry drilling
- 1.3Ah batteries provide less capacity for extended demanding work
- Not intended for heavy-duty industrial use
Best for: DIY beginners and homeowners who want a compact drill for furniture assembly, repairs, and light construction, with batteries and a charger included.
Not ideal for: Tradespeople drilling concrete or handling sustained heavy-duty work, or buyers who need several tool types in one kit.
- Model:DCD771C2
- Battery platform:20V MAX
- Motor output:300 UWO
- Speed settings:2
- No-load speed:0–450 rpm and 0–1,500 rpm
- Chuck:1/2-inch single-sleeve ratcheting
- Batteries:Two XR 1.3Ah lithium-ion
- Included accessories:Charger and contractor bag
Our verdict“Pick the DCD771C2 for a practical first drill kit for household and light DIY jobs, not masonry or heavy-duty work.”
DEWALT 5-Tool 20V MAX Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit (DCK551D1M1)
The DCK551D1M1 is the strongest choice here for someone building a flexible cordless toolkit around common renovation tasks. It combines a drill/driver and impact driver with a reciprocating saw, circular saw, and oscillating multi-tool, so one kit can cover fastening, rough cutting, and detail work. The circular saw’s 6-1/2-inch blade can cut a 2×4 at 45 degrees in one pass, while the reciprocating saw’s keyless clamp makes blade swaps simpler. Compared with the DCD771C2 starter set, this kit offers far more task coverage, but it is also a larger commitment for someone who only needs a drill. The supplied battery and charger get the set started, though the listed information does not specify battery capacity or runtime, a limitation for buyers planning long sessions across several tools.
Pros:- Five tools cover drilling, fastening, cutting, and detail work
- Compact drill and impact driver are suited to tight spaces
- Keyless reciprocating saw clamp speeds blade changes
- Circular saw cuts a 2×4 at 45 degrees in one pass
Cons:- A broad kit may include tools a drill-only buyer will rarely use
- Battery capacity and runtime are not specified in the provided product data
Best for: DIY renovators and property owners who need drilling, fastening, and several types of cutting tools in one cordless platform.
Not ideal for: Buyers with a narrow need for a drill alone, or crews who require clearly specified battery capacity and extended runtime.
- Model:DCK551D1M1
- Battery platform:20V MAX
- Tools included:Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating multi-tool
- Included power accessories:Battery and charger
- Drill/driver output:300 UWO
- Impact driver length:5.55 inches
- Circular saw blade:6-1/2-inch carbide
- Reciprocating saw blade clamp:Keyless
Our verdict“Choose this five-tool bundle if your projects call for both fastening and cutting, rather than just the everyday drilling covered by the DCD771C2.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Cordless Combo Kit with 2 Batteries, Charger, and 2 Bags (DCK1021D2)
With 10 tools, two batteries, a charger, and two bags, the DCK1021D2 is aimed at buyers who want a broad collection from the outset rather than adding tools one at a time. Its scale is the key distinction from the DCK551D1M1 five-tool kit: this bundle promises wider coverage and includes features such as variable-speed controls, quick-change mechanisms, an LED work light, a Bluetooth speaker, and dual-mode cleanup. That breadth can suit a busy maintenance setup, but the supplied product information does not name all 10 tools or give battery capacity and runtime. Those gaps make it harder to judge how well the kit matches a specific trade or how long it will work between charges. Buyers who need only a drill and driver may find the five-tool kit a more straightforward fit.
Pros:- Includes 10 cordless tools for a wide range of jobs
- Two batteries and a charger are included
- Two bags support tool transport and storage
- Variable-speed controls and quick-change features add task flexibility
Cons:- The provided product description does not identify all 10 tools
- Battery capacity and runtime details are not provided
- The large bundle may be excessive for buyers who need only a few tools
Best for: Maintenance teams and serious DIYers who want a wide 20V MAX tool collection, two batteries, and bags in one purchase.
Not ideal for: Buyers choosing tools for a specific task who need a fully listed tool inventory or detailed battery-capacity information before deciding.
- Model:DCK1021D2
- Battery platform:20V MAX
- Number of tools:10
- Batteries included:2
- Included accessories:Charger and 2 bags
- Control feature:Variable-speed controls
- Work light:LED
- Additional feature:Bluetooth speaker and dual-mode cleanup
Our verdict“Consider the DCK1021D2 for a broad, ready-to-carry toolkit, but verify its complete tool list if your work depends on specific tools.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit (DCS356D1)
The DCS356D1 stands apart from the cutting tools in the DCK551D1M1 by handling precise, close-up work: trimming, sanding, and accessory-based tasks where a full-size saw may be awkward. Its brushless motor is specified to deliver up to 57% more runtime than a brushed motor, and the three-speed selector lets buyers adapt performance to the job rather than relying on one setting. The quick-change system swaps accessories without a wrench, while the universal adapter supports most accessory brands. Unlike the tool-only DCF845B, this kit includes a battery and charger, as well as blades and sandpaper. Its tradeoff is specialization: it is not a replacement for a circular or reciprocating saw when the job calls for faster, longer cuts. The listed data also gives no battery capacity.
Pros:- Brushless motor is specified for up to 57% more runtime than a brushed motor
- Three speed settings let users adapt performance to the task
- Quick-change system swaps accessories without a wrench
- Includes battery, charger, blades, and sandpaper
Cons:- Specialized for detail work rather than replacing a circular or reciprocating saw
- Battery capacity is not specified in the provided product data
Best for: DIYers and remodelers who need controlled trimming, sanding, and detail work in places larger saws cannot reach cleanly.
Not ideal for: Buyers who mainly need fast straight cuts, or owners who already have a compatible 20V MAX battery and do not need another charger.
- Model:DCS356D1
- Battery platform:Cordless 20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Speed settings:3
- Accessory change:Quick-change, no wrench required
- Accessory compatibility:Universal adapter for most oscillating-tool accessory brands
- Lighting:LED work light
- Included items:Sandpaper, blades, battery, and charger
Our verdict“Choose the DCS356D1 for a complete cordless kit focused on controlled detail work, not for replacing a dedicated saw on long cuts.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit with Two 2.0Ah Batteries and Charger (DCK940D2)
I’d choose this kit when a project list spans drilling, cutting, grinding, and cleanup: its nine cordless tools include a drill and impact driver, two saws, an oscillating tool, grinder, right-angle drill, work light, and speaker. That range makes it more flexible than the DEWALT 5-Tool 20V MAX Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit, though the larger collection takes more room to store and carry. The tradeoff is power management: the included two 2.0Ah batteries are relatively small for a kit with several demanding tools, so frequent cutting or grinding may call for extra battery capacity. I’d favor this set for a new workshop or varied home projects, not for someone who needs a compact kit focused on a few daily tasks.
Pros:- Nine tools cover a wide mix of drilling, cutting, grinding, and jobsite needs.
- Includes two batteries, a charger, tool bags, and selected accessories.
- Quick-change features on the reciprocating saw and oscillating tool reduce accessory-change fuss.
- Bluetooth speaker adds a practical jobsite extra.
Cons:- Two 2.0Ah batteries may need frequent swaps during demanding cutting or grinding work.
- Nine tools and their accessories require substantial storage and transport space.
Best for: Homeowners or new workshop owners who want one kit covering drilling, cutting, grinding, and general repair tasks.
Not ideal for: Tradespeople who use high-draw tools throughout the day and need larger-capacity batteries or a smaller, easier-to-carry kit.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Tools included:9
- Drill driver power:300 UWO
- Circular saw blade:6-1/2-inch carbide
- Grinder:4-1/2-inch, 7,000 RPM
- Batteries:2 x 20V MAX XR 2.0Ah
- Impact driver lighting:3 LEDs with 20-second delay
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this kit if breadth matters more than compact storage or longer runtime between battery swaps.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Hammer Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with Two 4Ah Batteries and Charger
This two-tool set suits buyers who want more drilling capability and battery capacity than a basic drill-and-driver pairing. The two-speed hammer drill adds a hammer mode for suitable masonry work, while the brushless impact driver delivers up to 1,825 in-lbs of torque for demanding fastening. Its two 4Ah batteries also offer a larger capacity per pack than the 2.0Ah batteries in the DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit, though that broader kit includes tools for cutting and grinding too. The tradeoff is focus: this set has only a drill and impact driver, and the listed product information doesn’t give runtime or charge-time figures. I’d pick it for frequent drilling and fastening, not as an all-purpose tool collection.
Pros:- Hammer drill adds a mode for suitable masonry drilling.
- Brushless impact driver offers up to 1,825 in-lbs of torque and 3,400 RPM.
- Two included 4Ah batteries provide more capacity per pack than the 2.0Ah batteries in the nine-tool kit.
- Includes both batteries and a charger.
Cons:- Limited to a hammer drill and impact driver, without cutting or grinding tools.
- Runtime and battery charge time are not specified in the supplied product information.
Best for: Remodelers and serious DIYers who regularly drill, drive fasteners, and need hammer-drill capability for suitable masonry tasks.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking saws, a grinder, or other tools in the same purchase, or those who need documented runtime and charge-time figures.
- Voltage:20V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:2
- Battery capacity:4Ah each
- Impact driver torque:1,825 in-lbs
- Impact driver maximum speed:3,400 RPM
- Hammer drill speed settings:0–650 / 0–2,000 RPM
- Included components:Hammer drill, impact driver, two batteries, charger
Our verdict“Pick this focused kit if drilling and fastening are your main jobs and you want two 4Ah batteries included.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Blower, 100 CFM, Variable Speed (DCE100B)
I’d shortlist this blower for clearing sawdust, light debris, and work surfaces where a large yard blower would be awkward. At 2.5 lb, it is much easier to handle overhead or in tight work areas than a full-size cleanup tool, and its three-speed switch plus variable-speed trigger give more control than a simple on-off blower. The included three nozzle attachments add flexibility for directing airflow. By contrast, the DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit includes more kinds of tools, but its work light and saws aren’t a substitute for a dedicated blower. The limit here is clear: airflow tops out at 100 CFM, so this is for light cleanup, not shifting heavy leaves or debris. The battery is also sold separately.
Pros:- Light 2.5 lb body is easier to control overhead and in confined areas.
- Three-speed switch and variable-speed trigger let users adjust airflow.
- Three nozzle attachments help direct the air for different tasks.
- Trigger lock can reduce the need to hold the trigger continuously.
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included.
- Maximum airflow of 100 CFM limits it to light-duty cleanup.
Best for: DEWALT 20V owners who need a lightweight blower for workshop dust, small cleanup jobs, and tight spaces.
Not ideal for: People clearing large yards, heavy leaf piles, or other jobs that call for substantially more airflow.
- Voltage:20V
- Airflow capacity:100 CFM
- Maximum speed:135 mph
- Weight:2.5 lb
- Dimensions:12.6 × 5.7 × 7.85 in
- Speed control:3-speed switch and variable-speed trigger
- Included accessories:3 nozzle attachments
- Battery:Required; not included
Our verdict“Choose this blower for light, controlled cleanup in a compact form, but skip it for heavy outdoor debris.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless Oscillating Multi-Tool (DCS356B)
This multi-tool is a strong fit for flush cuts, trimming, and detail work where controlling speed and changing accessories quickly can save time. Its three speed settings and dual-grip variable-speed trigger let users match the pace to the material, while the quick-change accessory system avoids tool-assisted blade swaps. That makes it a more focused standalone pick than the oscillating tool included in the DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit, which makes more sense for buyers who want a whole set of tools at once. The brushless motor is listed as offering up to 57% more runtime than a brushed motor, but this is a tool-only purchase: battery and charger aren’t specified as included. Two wood-cutting blades are supplied, so other tasks may require additional accessories.
Pros:- Brushless motor is listed as providing up to 57% more runtime than a brushed motor.
- Three speed settings and a variable-speed trigger help tailor cutting pace.
- Quick-change accessory system allows tool-free accessory changes.
- LED work light helps illuminate the work surface.
Cons:- Battery and charger are not specified as included.
- Only two wood-cutting blades are included, limiting out-of-box accessory variety.
Best for: DIY renovators and finish workers who make frequent flush cuts, trims, and detail cuts and already own compatible 20V MAX batteries.
Not ideal for: First-time DEWALT buyers who need a battery and charger included, or users who need a ready-to-go assortment of accessories.
- Power:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Speed settings:3
- Oscillation rate:0–13,000 / 0–17,000 / 0–20,000 OPM
- Accessory system:Quick-change
- Included accessories:Two wood-cutting blades
- Model:DCS356B
Our verdict“Buy this tool for controlled detail work if you already have a compatible battery and can supply task-specific accessories.”
DEWALT 4V Cordless Screwdriver with 12-Piece Bit Set and LED Light (DWHT66719)
For flat-pack furniture, cabinet hardware, and other light fastening, this 4V screwdriver offers a more controlled alternative to a full-size 20V drill or impact driver. Its six-stage torque adjustment and soft start help reduce the chance of stripping delicate screws, while the FLEXDRIVE control and 360 RPM no-load speed suit steady, low-demand work. The included 12-piece bit set, LED, and USB-rechargeable 2Ah battery make it a self-contained choice, unlike the DEWALT 20V MAX XR Hammer Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit, which is built for much tougher drilling and fastening. That smaller scale is also the limitation: powered torque is 44 in-lbs, so it isn’t a substitute for a 20V driver on stubborn fasteners. A full recharge takes 60 minutes.
Pros:- Six-stage torque adjustment and soft start support more controlled fastening.
- Includes a 12-piece bit set and quick-load collet.
- USB-rechargeable 2Ah battery is listed for up to 680 screws per charge.
- Compact design and onboard LED suit small repair and assembly jobs.
Cons:- 44 in-lbs of powered torque is limited compared with 20V drills and impact drivers.
- A 60-minute recharge may interrupt extended work.
Best for: Furniture assemblers, homeowners handling small repairs, and anyone who wants controlled powered screwdriving without a full-size drill.
Not ideal for: Users driving long or stubborn fasteners, drilling demanding materials, or needing a tool for continuous heavy-duty work.
- Voltage:4V
- Maximum powered torque:44 in-lbs (5 Nm)
- Maximum manual torque:124 in-lbs (14 Nm)
- No-load speed:360 RPM
- Battery capacity:2Ah
- Screws per charge:Up to 680
- Recharge time:60 minutes
- Bit set:12 pieces (2-inch)
- Torque settings:6-stage
Our verdict“Choose this screwdriver for light, precision-focused screwdriving, not for heavy fastening or drilling.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Orbital Sander (DCW210B)
The DCW210B is my pick for sanding jobs where a cord would get in the way and speed control matters. Its brushless motor is designed to use the battery efficiently, while the variable-speed range lets me adapt the sanding action to different materials and tasks. The low-profile body helps keep the pad close to the work, which is useful for controlled finishing and sanding near edges. Compared with the three-tool DCK307D1P1 kit, this is a focused choice for buyers who need a sander rather than a spread of tools. The tradeoff is that it arrives as a tool only: I need a compatible battery and charger, and the included dust bag may not suit larger cleanup needs. Dust collectors and universal connectors are separate.
Pros:- Brushless motor is designed for efficient battery use.
- Variable-speed control helps adapt sanding speed to the task.
- Low-profile design supports controlled work close to surfaces.
- Dust-sealed switch helps protect the tool from dust ingress.
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included.
- Dust collectors and universal connectors are sold separately.
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who sand furniture, trim, or other workpieces where cordless access and variable speed are useful.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a complete ready-to-use kit, or who rely on a connected dust extractor and expect the required collector or connector to be included.
- Model:DCW210B
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Speed range:8,000–12,000 OPM
- Pad type:8-hole hook-and-loop
- Dust collection:One-handed locking dust bag; compatible with DWV010/DWV012
- Grip:Texturized rubber overmold
Our verdict“Choose the DCW210B if you already own a compatible battery and want a dedicated cordless sander with speed control and a low-profile design.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)
The DCK240C2 makes a practical entry into DEWALT’s 20V MAX lineup because it pairs two distinct jobs: drilling with a ratcheting-chuck drill and fastening with a compact impact driver. The kit includes two batteries, a charger, and a bag, so it is more self-contained than the tool-only DCW210B sander or DCG413B grinder. Both tools are relatively compact, and the impact driver’s short body can help when fasteners sit in cramped spots. Compared with the brushless DCK277D2, this kit’s listed details do not specify brushless motors or battery capacity, so buyers have less information for judging efficiency and runtime. Its key advantage is a clear, versatile starting set; its limitation is that the supplied specifications leave battery endurance uncertain.
Pros:- Combines a drill/driver and impact driver for different tasks.
- Includes two batteries, a charger, and a carrying bag.
- Compact tool dimensions help in tight or hard-to-reach spaces.
- LED work lights stay on for 20 seconds after trigger release.
Cons:- Battery capacity and runtime are not specified in the supplied details.
- The supplied product information does not identify the motors as brushless.
Best for: First-time DEWALT 20V MAX buyers who need both a drill for holes and an impact driver for regular fastening, with batteries and charger included.
Not ideal for: Buyers who specifically want confirmed brushless motors or need stated battery capacity and runtime information before choosing a kit.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Tools included:Drill/driver and impact driver
- Kit contents:Two batteries, charger, and carrying bag
- Impact driver length:5.55 in.
- Impact driver weight:2.8 lbs
- Drill/driver length:7.5 in.
- Drill/driver chuck:1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Pick this kit as a straightforward first DEWALT drill-and-impact-driver set when included batteries and a charger matter more than confirmed brushless performance.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 3-Tool Combo Kit with Brushless Router, Random Orbital Sander, and Jig Saw
This kit earns a distinct place for buyers building a cordless woodworking setup: it combines a router, random orbital sander, and jig saw, with brushless motors across all three tools. The router’s variable-speed dial gives more control over routing tasks, while the included 5.0Ah and 2.0Ah batteries give buyers two battery sizes for different work demands. Compared with the single-purpose DCW210B, this package covers more stages of a project; it also includes a charger and contractor bag, unlike the tool-only sander. That breadth comes with a tradeoff: it is less targeted if sanding alone is the goal, and the supplied details do not give tool-specific speeds, cuts, or dimensions for comparing performance. I’d choose it for range, not for the most detailed spec sheet.
Pros:- Combines three useful woodworking tools in one kit.
- Brushless motors are specified for the router, sander, and jig saw.
- Router includes a variable-speed dial for adjusting operation.
- Includes 5.0Ah and 2.0Ah batteries, a charger, and contractor bag.
Cons:- Less suitable for buyers who need only one of the included tools.
- Tool-specific speeds, cutting capacities, and dimensions are not provided.
Best for: Woodworkers and remodelers who want a cordless router, sander, and jig saw in one kit, along with two batteries and a charger.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need only a sander, or who want detailed performance specifications for each tool before deciding.
- Model:DCK307D1P1
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Tools included:Compact router, random orbital sander, and jig saw
- Router motor:Brushless; variable-speed dial
- Sander motor:Brushless
- Jig saw motor:Brushless
- Batteries:5.0Ah XR Lithium Ion and 2.0Ah compact
- Charger:12V MAX/20V MAX 4 Amp
- Other included item:Contractor bag
Our verdict“Choose this kit if you want three brushless cordless tools for woodworking and value a broader setup over detailed performance specifications for each tool.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 4.5-Inch Cordless Angle Grinder with Paddle Switch and Kickback Brake (Tool Only, DCG413B)
The DCG413B stands apart from the drill-and-driver kits by focusing on cutting and grinding, with safety features that address two real risks of grinder work. Its wheel brake stops the disc in two seconds or less on average, while the kickback brake shuts the tool off during a pinch, stall, or bind-up. That makes it a more safety-focused choice than the general-purpose DCK240C2, though it serves a narrower set of jobs. The brushless motor avoids brush changes, and the 4.5-inch disc size suits common grinder tasks. I would not treat the brake as a substitute for careful handling or protective gear. This is also a tool-only purchase, and the two-action paddle-switch activation may feel less immediate than a simpler control.
Pros:- Brushless motor needs no brush changes.
- Wheel brake stops the disc in two seconds or less on average.
- Kickback brake shuts the tool off during a pinch, stall, or bind-up.
- 4.5-inch disc supports common grinding and cutting tasks.
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately.
- Two-stage trigger requires two actions to activate.
- Its grinder-specific use is narrower than the drill-and-driver kits.
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who need a cordless 4.5-inch grinder for metalworking or site tasks and value braking and kickback controls.
Not ideal for: Buyers without a compatible battery and charger, or anyone seeking a versatile drill-and-driver kit rather than a dedicated grinder.
- Model:DCG413B
- Power source:Battery powered
- Voltage:20 volts
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum rotational speed:3,450 rpm
- Disc size:4.5 inches
- Dimensions:12.2 × 4.7 × 6 inches
- Included:Tool only; battery and charger sold separately
Our verdict“Choose the DCG413B if cordless grinding is the priority and you want built-in wheel and kickback braking, provided you already have a compatible battery.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK277D2)
For buyers who want a compact drill-and-driver pair with brushless motors, the DCK277D2 is the more targeted alternative to the DCK240C2. It includes two batteries, a charger, and a bag, and its compact drill measures 7.6 inches front to back. A quick-release hex chuck and variable-speed trigger support fast bit changes and controlled starts, while the LED remains on for 20 seconds after release. The kit is a sensible fit for repeated fastening and drilling in tighter work areas. There is a limit to what the supplied details establish: battery capacity and performance figures are not given. Compared with the three-tool DCK307D1P1, it offers fewer tool types but keeps the kit focused on two everyday jobs.
Pros:- Brushless drill and impact driver are suited to a compact cordless setup.
- Includes two batteries, charger, and carrying bag.
- Compact drill measures 7.6 inches front to back.
- Variable-speed trigger and 20-second LED delay support controlled work.
Cons:- Battery capacity is not specified.
- Detailed performance figures are not provided.
Best for: DIYers and tradespeople who want a compact, brushless DEWALT drill-and-impact-driver kit for routine drilling and fastening in confined spaces.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need stated battery capacity or tool performance figures, or who want a broader multi-tool kit such as the DCK307D1P1.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Tools included:Cordless drill and impact driver
- Kit contents:Two batteries, charger, and bag
- Drill length:7.6 inches front to back
- Chuck:Quick-release hex chuck
- Lighting:LED with 20-second delay
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the DCK277D2 for a compact two-tool kit with brushless motors and included charging gear, but look elsewhere if battery capacity and performance data are a priority.”

How We Picked
I ranked these 15 options by how clearly they serve a buyer need, how much useful work they can cover, and how practical their included power and accessories are. For kits, I weighed tool variety against overlap, battery count and capacity, and whether the contents make sense for a coherent set of jobs. For individual tools, I considered the role they fill, whether they are tool-only or supplied as a kit, and how specialized their use is.
The order favors versatile, usable starting points before larger or narrower investments. A drill-and-impact-driver combination ranks ahead of a single-task tool for most buyers, while a broad kit ranks well only when its extra tools match likely projects. I also account for tradeoffs: a tool-only purchase can be efficient for existing 20V MAX owners but a poor first buy, and a compact or specialized model should not be mistaken for a replacement for heavier-duty equipment.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best DeWalt Power Tools
Choosing among DeWalt tools is as much about building a workable setup as selecting a model. I would start with the jobs you repeat, then check the platform, batteries, and kit contents against those jobs rather than choosing by tool count alone.
Start With the Jobs, Not the Kit Size
Write down the tasks you expect to handle over the next year, separating routine fastening and drilling from occasional cutting, sanding, or cleanup. A drill-and-impact-driver pair covers many household and maintenance jobs without committing you to tools you may rarely use. A larger kit can be a sensible shortcut for someone furnishing a work area, but extra tools only add value if they replace tasks you already pay someone else to do or help you complete them more easily. Check each kit’s contents against your list, not just its headline tool count. Avoid buying a wide set solely because it appears to cover every situation. For occasional jobs, borrowing or buying a single suitable tool can leave you with a more useful setup.
Treat Battery Platform and Included Batteries as Part of the Tool
DeWalt’s 20V MAX tools in this roundup share a platform, but a tool-only listing still requires a compatible battery and charger. If you already own batteries, confirm that their condition and capacity suit the new tool; a high-demand task can make a small battery feel limiting. New buyers should compare the complete kit contents, including battery count, charger, and storage, rather than assuming all combo kits provide the same support. More batteries can reduce downtime when several tools are in regular use, while a compact battery may keep a lighter tool easier to handle. The 4V screwdriver is a separate choice from the 20V MAX lineup, so it should not be treated as part of the same battery system. Buying into a platform can simplify future tool-only purchases, but only if you expect to add compatible tools.
Match Tool Capability to Material and Workload
Tool categories that look similar can be aimed at different materials and workloads. A standard drill driver handles ordinary drilling and fastening, while a hammer drill adds a mode for masonry drilling; it does not replace a rotary hammer for demanding concrete work. An impact driver is designed around driving fasteners, so it is not a direct substitute for a drill when clean, controlled holes are the priority. Likewise, a compact blower for light cleanup is not the same purchase as equipment intended to move heavy debris. Choose based on the toughest task you actually expect to repeat, not an occasional extreme scenario. When a tool is specialized, check the intended materials and compatible accessories before buying.
Compare Kit Breadth With Battery and Storage Practicality
A larger kit can lower the effort of assembling a compatible collection, yet breadth alone does not tell you whether the set is practical. Consider how often you will use each tool, how many batteries can be shared across active tasks, and whether the included storage suits your workspace or travel. A kit with several tools and limited battery support may require pauses if multiple tools are in use throughout the day. Smaller kits can be easier to manage and may leave room to choose a specialized tool later. Check the exact model numbers and included accessories because similarly named bundles can differ. If you already own some of the tools, a broad kit may duplicate equipment instead of expanding your capability.
Decide When a Specialized Tool Is Worth Adding
Dedicated tools can make repeated tasks easier, but they are less flexible than a drill or impact driver. An oscillating multi-tool can serve several cutting, scraping, and detail-work needs when paired with suitable accessories, while a random orbital sander is focused on surface preparation and finishing. A cordless angle grinder addresses grinding and cutting tasks that general-purpose tools are not built to do. The 4V screwdriver is suited to light fastening where control and compact handling matter more than the capability of a full-size drill. Before adding a specialist, count how often the task comes up and whether an attachment or manual method already handles it well. Pay for a dedicated tool when its particular function improves repeat work, not just because it fills an empty spot in a kit.
Check Bare-Tool Requirements and Long-Term Ownership
Tool-only purchases can be a practical way to expand an existing 20V MAX collection, but they can become a poor first purchase once battery and charger needs are factored in. Confirm what comes in the box, including batteries, charger, case or bag, and any task-specific accessories. Think about storage, dust or debris management, and the accessories the tool consumes, since those needs affect ownership beyond the initial tool choice. For sanding, cutting, or grinding, the right consumables influence results and ongoing upkeep. A kit is often the simpler route when you need the whole setup; a bare tool makes more sense when your batteries are already ready for the job. Compare the complete working setup rather than the tool body alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which DeWalt kit makes the most sense as a first cordless-tool purchase?
For many first-time buyers, a drill-and-impact-driver combo is a more manageable start than a nine- or ten-tool bundle. It covers common drilling and fastening without requiring you to store several tools you may not use. The XR hammer drill and impact driver kit is the more capable choice if masonry drilling is part of your likely work; a standard combo can be enough for household repairs and wood projects. Check the supplied batteries, charger, and accessories before deciding, since a tool kit is only ready to work if it includes the power essentials you need. Choose a wider bundle only when its extra tools match jobs you already expect to tackle.
Should I buy a tool-only DeWalt model or a kit?
A tool-only model is usually the cleaner choice when you already own compatible 20V MAX batteries and a charger. It can be less convenient as a first purchase because those pieces are needed to use the tool and add to the overall setup. A kit is more practical if you are starting from scratch or need additional battery capacity to keep several tools working. Before choosing, verify the exact battery platform and what the package includes; the 4V screwdriver does not share the 20V MAX system. Also account for task-specific accessories, which may not come with a bare tool.
Is a 20V MAX hammer drill necessary for home projects?
Not for every home project. A standard drill driver is enough for many holes in wood and for routine fastening, while the hammer function is useful when drilling into masonry is a regular task. If you rarely work with brick or concrete, paying for hammer-drilling capability may add little to your setup. For demanding concrete drilling, a hammer drill may not be the right class of tool, so match the tool to the material and hole size. Consider how often you will use that added mode, rather than treating it as an automatic upgrade.
Are the nine- and ten-tool combo kits a better buy than smaller combos?
They can suit buyers who need a broad collection at once, such as someone setting up a work area with several different tasks ahead. Their larger tool count is less useful if some tools will stay unused or duplicate equipment you already own. Battery support matters too: compare the number and capacity of batteries with how many tools you plan to run during a work session. A smaller combo leaves more room to select a specialist based on your actual needs. Make a list of likely projects before committing to a large kit.
Which DeWalt option should I choose for light repairs rather than construction work?
For small fastening jobs around furniture, cabinets, or fixtures, the 4V cordless screwdriver is the most focused option in this lineup. If your repairs also involve drilling holes or driving larger fasteners, a 20V MAX drill-and-impact combo gives you more range. The 4V tool is not a replacement for a full-size drill, and a broad construction kit may be more equipment than occasional household tasks call for. Think about the materials you work with and whether you need to make holes, drive fasteners, or both. Choose the smallest setup that covers those recurring tasks without limiting the work you actually do.
Conclusion
For a broadly useful setup, I recommend the 20V MAX XR Hammer Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit as the best overall choice, especially when masonry drilling is on the task list. Buyers seeking the best value in coverage should compare the 5-tool combo with the larger kits and choose the smallest one that covers their real jobs, rather than paying for unused breadth. For a premium, expansive setup, the 10-tool kit is the pick for people who will put its range to work and can use its included batteries and storage. Beginners who mainly handle light household repairs may prefer the drill-and-impact combo—or the 4V screwdriver for small fastening jobs. For specific needs, choose the oscillating multi-tool for detail work, the router-sander-jigsaw kit for woodworking, the blower for light cleanup, or the angle grinder for grinding and cutting; existing 20V MAX owners can favor bare tools, while new buyers should prioritize a complete kit.


















