The Milwaukee M18 FUEL 21-Degree Framing Nailer is my best overall pick for buyers already invested in Milwaukee’s battery platform, while the Metabo HPT NR1890DRA kit stands out for shoppers who want a kit rather than a bare tool. For a 30-degree option, I’d compare the 20-Volt 30° tool-only model with the ONE+ HP AirStrike, since their angle and battery ecosystems may suit different existing setups. The main tradeoffs are platform compatibility, nail angle and collation, kit contents, and the weight and upkeep that come with a cordless tool. A bare tool may make sense if you own compatible batteries, while a kit can reduce setup friction for a new platform. Read on for how each option fits different framing needs and where each one falls short.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Battery platform is a major divider: the Milwaukee, Craftsman, ONE+, and 20-Volt options make the most sense when their batteries already fit your other tools.
- The Metabo HPT is the only listing explicitly identified as a kit, which may suit a buyer starting without compatible batteries; check the exact included accessories before choosing.
- Angle and collation affect nail choice and jobsite fit: the lineup includes 21-degree and 30-degree models, so match the tool to the nails you can readily source and the work you do.
- The two Craftsman listings share the CMCN621PLB model identifier, with one described as renewed; compare condition, warranty, and seller details instead of treating them as different designs.
- Renewed and tool-only listings call for extra diligence: verify condition, battery inclusion, and return or warranty terms before weighing them against standard listings.
| cordless framing nailer | Nail angle | Maximum nail length | Voltage |
|---|---|---|---|
| CRAFTSMAN V20 21-Degree Cordle | — | 3-1/4 inches | — |
| 20-Volt 21° Cordless Framing N | — | — | 20 V |
| Metabo HPT NR1890DRA 18V Cordl | 21 degrees | 3-1/2 inches | — |
| Milwaukee M18 FUEL 21-Degree F | — | — | — |
| 20-Volt 30° Cordless Framing N | 30 degrees | — | 20 V |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Co | 21 degrees | — | 20V |
| Craftsman V20 Cordless 21-Degr | 21 degrees | 3-1/4 inches | — |
| ONE+ HP Brushless 18V Cordless | 30 degrees | 3-1/2 inches | 18V |
More Details on Our Top Picks
CRAFTSMAN V20 21-Degree Cordless Framing Nailer (Bare Tool, CMCN621PLB)
V20 battery compatibility gives this CRAFTSMAN a clear role for buyers already invested in the brand’s cordless tools. It drives round-head nails up to 3-1/4 inches, covering common framing tasks, and tool-free depth adjustment makes it easier to adapt the drive for different materials. Compared with the Metabo HPT NR1890DRA, it has a shorter stated maximum nail length and lacks the listed kit battery and firing modes, so buyers needing more documented capacity may prefer the Metabo. The tradeoff is a straightforward bare-tool package: no compressor, hose, or gas cartridge is needed, but the battery and charger must be purchased separately. The included rafter hook helps keep the tool close while working at height; VERSATRACK accessories are also sold separately.
Pros:- Cordless operation avoids a compressor and air hose
- Drives round-head nails up to 3-1/4 inches
- Tool-free depth adjustment
- Rafter hook is included
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately
- Maximum nail length is shorter than the Metabo HPT NR1890DRA’s stated 3-1/2-inch capacity
- VERSATRACK clip and accessories are sold separately
Best for: CRAFTSMAN V20 owners who need a cordless nailer for routine framing and already have compatible batteries and a charger
Not ideal for: Buyers starting without V20 batteries or those who need a stated 3-1/2-inch nail capacity and included battery kit
- Brand:CRAFTSMAN
- Series:V20
- Nailer angle:21 degrees
- Maximum nail length:3-1/4 inches
- Depth adjustment:Tool-free
- Included:Framing nailer and rafter hook
- Battery and charger:Sold separately
- VERSATRACK compatible:Yes; clip and accessories sold separately
Our verdict“Choose this bare tool for everyday framing if you already own CRAFTSMAN V20 batteries and do not need the longer nail capacity listed for the Metabo HPT.”
20-Volt 21° Cordless Framing Nailer (Tool-Only)
This model’s clearest selling point is its 20-volt cordless platform and 21-degree nail angle, which may suit buyers whose existing tools use that battery system. Its listing provides little else to judge: it does not state nail length, firing modes, weight, or runtime. That makes it harder to match to demanding framing work than the Metabo HPT NR1890DRA, which specifies a 3-1/2-inch maximum nail length, two firing modes, and a kit battery. Compared with the CRAFTSMAN V20, this tool also has less published detail about adjustment features and included accessories. The practical tradeoff is a simple tool-only offer with a named voltage, but buyers should confirm battery compatibility and nail requirements before choosing it for a job where those details matter.
Pros:- Cordless format avoids an air hose and compressor
- Specified 20-volt battery platform
- 21-degree nail angle
- Tool-only package may suit owners who already have compatible batteries
Cons:- Battery and charger are not specified as included
- Maximum nail length and firing modes are not provided
- Published details are too limited to compare runtime or tool weight
Best for: DIY builders or contractors who already own the compatible 20-volt battery system and can confirm the nail specifications meet their project needs
Not ideal for: Buyers who need documented nail capacity, runtime, weight, or firing modes before selecting a framing nailer
- Voltage:20 V
- Nailer angle:21 degrees
- Power source:Cordless
- Included items:Tool only
- Battery:Not specified
- Charger:Not specified
Our verdict“Consider this 20-volt tool-only model only if its battery fit and nail capacity are confirmed for your work.”
Metabo HPT NR1890DRA 18V Cordless 21° Framing Nailer Kit
The NR1890DRA kit stands out for buyers who want more capability and a battery included in the package. Its air spring drive is specified to work without ramp-up time, while the brushless motor and 120-joule drive energy support driving into hard materials. The 3-1/2-inch maximum nail length exceeds the CRAFTSMAN V20’s stated 3-1/4 inches, giving this Metabo HPT more reach for heavier framing fasteners. Bump and sequential modes also let buyers choose between faster repetitive nailing and controlled placement. Its listed runtime is up to 500 nails per charge with the included 4.0Ah battery. The cost of that capability is bulk: 8.4 pounds before the battery can tire arms during overhead or extended work. It suits demanding jobs better than an unspecified 20-volt tool-only model, though the added weight remains a real tradeoff.
Pros:- Air spring drive is specified to operate without ramp-up time
- Drives nails up to 3-1/2 inches into hard materials
- Includes a 4.0Ah battery with up to 500 nails per charge
- Offers bump and sequential firing modes
Cons:- Weighs 8.4 pounds before adding the battery
- Battery-powered runtime requires recharging during extended work
- Heavier than buyers seeking a compact or low-fatigue framing tool may prefer
Best for: Framers who want a specified 3-1/2-inch nail capacity, two firing modes, and an included 4.0Ah battery for jobsite work
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing a lighter tool for overhead work or frequent all-day handling
- Model:NR1890DRA
- Power:18 V
- Nail angle:21 degrees
- Maximum nail length:3-1/2 inches
- Drive energy:120 joules
- Weight:8.4 lbs without battery
- Battery and runtime:4.0Ah lithium-ion; up to 500 nails per charge
- Motor and drive system:Brushless motor; air spring drive
- Firing modes:Bump and sequential
Our verdict“Choose the Metabo HPT kit for longer fasteners and a ready-to-use battery package if its pre-battery weight suits your work.”
Milwaukee M18 FUEL 21-Degree Framing Nailer (Tool Only)
For buyers already using Milwaukee M18 batteries, this tool-only framing nailer combines a broad stated nail range with firing flexibility. It accepts 2- to 3-1/2-inch full round-head nails and offers both sequential and contact actuation; the latter supports faster repetitive work, while sequential firing favors controlled placement. Unlike the Metabo HPT NR1890DRA kit, the Milwaukee battery and charger are sold separately, though its stated runtime reaches up to 750 nails per M18 XC 5 Ah charge. Its oil-free sealed nitrogen mechanism avoids gas cartridges and routine oiling, and dry-fire lockout helps prevent empty shots. That capability comes in a 9.6-pound tool, heavier than the listed Metabo HPT before its battery is added. The no-mar tip is useful for protecting finished surfaces, but the optional extended-capacity magazine adds a separate purchase.
Pros:- Accepts 2- to 3-1/2-inch full round-head nails
- Sequential and contact firing modes support controlled and faster work
- Oil-free mechanism needs no gas cartridges
- Includes a no-mar tip and dry-fire lockout
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately
- Weighs 9.6 pounds
- Extended-capacity magazine is sold separately
Best for: M18 owners who want a 21-degree nailer with contact and sequential modes for framing and repetitive fastening
Not ideal for: Buyers without M18 batteries or those seeking a lighter tool for prolonged overhead work
- Model:2744-20
- Power source:Cordless, 18 V
- Magazine angle:20–22 degrees
- Fastener type and length:Full round head; 2–3-1/2 inches
- Motor:Brushless
- Firing modes:Sequential and contact actuation
- Battery runtime:Up to 750 nails per M18 XC 5 Ah battery charge
- Weight:9.6 lbs
- Mechanism and included accessory:Oil-free sealed compressed nitrogen gas; no-mar tip
Our verdict“Pick the Milwaukee for M18 battery compatibility, two firing modes, and stated runtime if you can manage its 9.6-pound tool weight.”
20-Volt 30° Cordless Framing Nailer (Tool-Only)
The defining reason to choose this model is its 30-degree nail angle, which separates it from the 21-degree CRAFTSMAN V20, Metabo HPT, and Milwaukee options in this group. That angle can make sense for buyers whose fastening work calls for 30-degree nails, but the product details provide no maximum nail length, firing modes, runtime, or weight to show how it handles broader framing demands. The 20-volt cordless design removes the compressor and hose, yet this is a tool-only package with no battery or charger included. Compared with the Metabo HPT kit, it offers far less detail and no included battery; its case for purchase depends on the nail angle matching the job. Buyers should verify the compatible fastener type and length before relying on it for a specific framing project.
Pros:- Cordless operation avoids a compressor and hose
- Designed for 30-degree framing nails
- Specified 20-volt platform
- Tool-only format may suit existing owners of compatible batteries
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included
- Maximum nail length and firing modes are not stated
- Runtime and tool weight are not provided
Best for: Framers whose projects specifically require 30-degree nails and who already have the compatible 20-volt battery system
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a documented maximum nail length, runtime, firing modes, or an included battery kit
- Voltage:20 V
- Nail angle:30 degrees
- Power source:Cordless
- Package contents:Tool only
- Battery:Not included
- Charger:Not included
Our verdict“Choose this model when 30-degree nails are a firm job requirement and you have verified its fastener and battery compatibility.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless Framing Nailer, 21-Degree, Plastic Collated, Tool Only (Renewed)
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR stands out for buyers splitting time between wall framing and subflooring: its stated output reaches up to 530 sq. ft. of subflooring per charge, with no compressor or hose to move around. Its 21-degree format and toe-nailing nose suit angled fastening, while the magnesium magazine keeps the tool’s listed tool-only weight to 8.65 pounds. Compared with the ONE+ HP 18V AirStrike, which accepts nails up to 3-1/2 inches and offers contact drive, DEWALT’s supplied details emphasize framing coverage and toe-nailing instead of maximum nail length or drive-mode choice. The tradeoffs are the renewed condition and tool-only package: a compatible battery and charger are not specified as included, and the TOOL CONNECT chip is separate. I’d choose it for subfloor-heavy work if I already own the platform.
Pros:- Cordless operation removes the compressor and hose from framing and subflooring jobs.
- Brushless motor is specified for a range of framing applications.
- Toe-nailing nose supports fastening at aggressive angles.
- Stated output reaches up to 530 sq. ft. of subflooring or 100 ft. of wall framing per charge.
Cons:- Renewed condition may not suit buyers who want a new tool.
- Battery and charger are not specified as included.
- TOOL CONNECT chip is sold separately.
Best for: Framers and remodelers who already use DEWALT 20V batteries and need a cordless tool for both wall framing and subflooring.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a new tool with battery and charger included, or who want a stated maximum nail length before choosing.
- Voltage:20V
- Motor:Brushless
- Nail angle:21 degrees
- Collation:Plastic collated
- Weight:8.65 lbs. (tool only)
- Magazine material:High-strength magnesium
- Stated output per charge:Up to 530 sq. ft. of subflooring or 100 ft. of wall framing
- Condition and package:Renewed; tool only
Our verdict“Choose the DEWALT if you already own its 20V platform and want a framing nailer with stated subflooring capacity and toe-nailing support.”
Craftsman V20 Cordless 21-Degree Framing Nailer, Bare Tool (CMCN621PLB) (Renewed)
This Craftsman V20 is a practical fit for buyers already invested in the V20 battery platform who want straightforward framing controls. Its tool-free depth adjustment makes it easier to tune nail placement as materials change, and the stated maximum of 3-1/4-inch nails covers common framing work, including laminated veneer lumber. The included rafter hook gives crews a place to hang the tool between cuts. Compared with the DEWALT 20V MAX XR, Craftsman’s supplied details spell out its maximum nail length but do not provide a per-charge coverage figure or brushless motor specification. It also lacks the ONE+ HP’s stated contact-drive option. That makes it a simpler choice for V20 owners who value basic adjustment and reach over documented runtime or selectable drive modes. The renewed condition and bare-tool package are real limits: battery and charger are separate.
Pros:- Drives round-head nails up to 3-1/4 inches into laminated veneer lumber.
- Tool-free depth adjustment simplifies changes between materials.
- Rafter hook is included for hanging the nailer during work.
- Cordless operation avoids a compressor, hose, or gas cartridge.
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately.
- Renewed condition may not suit buyers seeking a new tool.
- VERSATRACK clip and accessories are sold separately.
Best for: Craftsman V20 owners doing framing or renovation work who need a cordless nailer for nails up to 3-1/4 inches.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a new tool with a battery included, or who require documented per-charge output or multiple drive modes.
- Platform:Craftsman V20
- Nail angle:21 degrees
- Maximum nail length:3-1/4 inches
- Nail type:Round-head
- Depth adjustment:Tool-free
- Included:Framing nailer and rafter hook
- Battery and charger:Sold separately
- Condition:Renewed
Our verdict“Pick this Craftsman if you already own V20 batteries and want a renewed, bare-tool framing nailer with simple depth adjustment and a rafter hook.”
ONE+ HP Brushless 18V Cordless AirStrike 30° Framing Nailer (Tool Only)
The ONE+ HP 18V AirStrike is the most flexible pick here for buyers who switch between controlled placement and faster contact driving. It accepts clipped or full-head nails up to 3-1/2 inches, and its single-sequential and contact-actuation modes let the operator choose between deliberate shots and rapid work. That gives it a broader stated nail-length range and more drive-mode choice than the Craftsman V20, whose listed maximum is 3-1/4 inches and whose supplied details do not name alternate modes. The 30-degree format also differs from the 21-degree DEWALT and Craftsman options, so buyers should match nail collation to their planned supplies. Ryobi states up to 750 nails per charge with a separately sold 4.0 Ah battery. The bare-tool package and separate battery are the main friction points; I’d favor it for existing ONE+ owners who can use its added flexibility.
Pros:- Accepts clipped or full-head nails up to 3-1/2 inches.
- Offers both single-sequential and contact-actuation drive modes.
- Tool-free depth adjustment supports quick changes to nail placement.
- States up to 750 nails per charge with a 4.0 Ah battery.
Cons:- Battery is sold separately.
- The 30-degree format differs from the 21-degree DEWALT and Craftsman options, so nail supplies need to match.
- The stated per-charge output depends on a separately sold 4.0 Ah battery.
Best for: ONE+ users who drive both clipped- and full-head nails and want to switch between sequential placement and contact actuation.
Not ideal for: Buyers who already stock only 21-degree nails, or who need a battery included in the package.
- Voltage:18V
- Motor:Brushless
- Nail angle:30 degrees
- Maximum nail length:3-1/2 inches
- Nail types:Clipped or full head
- Drive modes:Single sequential and contact actuation
- Nails per charge:Up to 750 with a 4.0 Ah battery
- Included battery:No; tool only
Our verdict“Choose the ONE+ HP if you want 30-degree nail compatibility, two drive modes, and the option to use nails up to 3-1/2 inches.”

How We Picked
I ranked these cordless framing nailers around the decisions that affect real ownership: battery-platform fit, 21-degree versus 30-degree nail compatibility, whether the listing is a kit or bare tool, and the clarity of its condition. A cordless framer can save setup time and avoid a hose or compressor, but those gains matter less if the tool adds a battery platform or uses nails that are inconvenient to source. I gave the Metabo HPT kit a distinct advantage for buyers who need a more complete starting point, while the Milwaukee leads for platform owners seeking a prominent 21-degree option. The 30-degree models earn consideration for buyers whose fastening needs and nail supply align with that format.
I also treated renewed listings and repeated model identifiers carefully: a renewed tool is not automatically a different product design, and the product title alone cannot establish its condition or warranty. Since the provided listings do not state detailed firing performance, weight, or runtime, I did not use unsupported claims about those traits to set the order. Buyers should confirm current specifications, included items, and compatibility with the manufacturer or seller before purchase.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Cordless Framing Nailers
Before choosing a cordless framing nailer, I’d settle the compatibility questions that can turn a seemingly convenient tool into an awkward purchase. The right pick depends on your nail supply, battery shelf, pace of work, and tolerance for tool weight and maintenance.
Match the Nail Angle to Your Fasteners
A 21-degree or 30-degree label tells you which collation format the tool accepts; it does not mean the nailer can use every framing nail. Check the nail length, shank, head style, and collation requirements in the tool’s specifications before buying. Then look at what local suppliers reliably stock, especially if you are working to a schedule. A less common format can leave you carrying extra inventory or waiting for a delivery. Avoid choosing by angle alone when a job specification calls for a particular fastener. If you already own nails, verify compatibility with the exact model rather than assuming all nails at the same angle fit.
Count the Cost of a New Battery Platform
A tool-only listing is most attractive when you already own compatible batteries and a charger. If you do not, add those items to your purchase decision before comparing bare tools with a kit. Check battery voltage and platform details in the manufacturer’s documentation; similar voltage labels do not make packs interchangeable. For occasional framing, a kit may be a simpler way to start, while a multi-tool owner may get more value from a bare tool. Also consider whether you need a spare battery so charging does not interrupt a longer job. Battery availability matters beyond the first purchase because it shapes how easily you can keep working across your tools.
Think About Work Pace and Downtime
Cordless convenience does not by itself tell you how long a nailer will run on a charge or how quickly it can keep up with your work. For a large framing project, look for manufacturer runtime guidance, battery recommendations, and any stated recovery or firing limitations. A spare charged battery can reduce waiting, but it adds weight and another item to manage. For short repairs, stairs, or punch-list work, avoiding a hose and compressor may matter more than maximum sustained output. Do not infer professional-duty pace from a brushless label or a product-family name alone. Match the nailer to the longest stretch of uninterrupted fastening you expect to do.
Account for Weight and Handling
Framing often means repeated lifts, awkward angles, and work above shoulder height, so total carry weight deserves attention. Compare the nailer’s listed weight with the battery attached, when that figure is available; tool-only weights can understate what you will hold. A larger battery may extend work time while making overhead fastening more tiring. Balance and grip shape also affect control, especially when positioning the nose precisely. If you can inspect the tool in person, handle it with the battery you plan to use. For a full-day job, a small handling difference can matter more than a feature you rarely use.
Check Service, Condition, and Listing Details
Framing nailers work in dusty conditions and use moving parts, so service access and maintenance instructions affect ownership. Read the manual for cleaning, jam clearing, storage, and any required lubrication; do not assume every cordless design follows the same routine. With a renewed listing, verify who inspected the tool, what accessories are included, and what warranty or return coverage applies. A repeated model number can indicate the same underlying design even when listing condition differs. For a kit, confirm the battery, charger, case, and other promised items are actually included. Clear listing details reduce the chance that a lower-friction purchase turns into extra sourcing or repair work.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose a 21-degree or 30-degree cordless framing nailer?
Choose based on the exact nails your projects require and can source consistently. The angle identifies a collation format, so check the manufacturer’s compatibility list for nail length, shank, head, and collation details. If you already have framing nails on hand, confirm they match the specific model before buying. A tool with the preferred angle is less useful if its compatible nails are hard to obtain where you work. The roundup includes both formats, so your nail supply can narrow the choice before battery features do.
Is a tool-only framing nailer a good choice if I do not own that brand’s batteries?
It can be, but compare the complete setup you need rather than the nailer alone. You may also need a compatible battery and charger, and possibly a spare pack for longer work. Check that the battery platform is supported by the exact nailer model; voltage labels alone are not enough to confirm compatibility. The Metabo HPT listing is identified as a kit, while several others are tool-only, so inspect what each seller includes. If you expect to add more tools on that platform, the added battery system may serve a broader purpose.
What should I verify before buying a renewed cordless framing nailer?
Check the stated condition, included battery and charger, warranty coverage, and return terms before ordering. Ask whether the tool has been inspected and whether wear items or damaged parts were replaced. Compare the renewed listing with the standard version by model number and specifications, since renewed status describes condition rather than a new design. For the two Craftsman entries here, the shared CMCN621PLB identifier is a reason to check listing details closely. If those details are vague, the uncertainty may outweigh any convenience of the listing.
Can one cordless framing nailer handle both occasional repairs and a full framing project?
That depends on runtime, battery availability, handling comfort, and the tool’s documented firing capacity. Occasional repairs may not call for a spare battery or a kit, while a long project can make charging gaps and fatigue more noticeable. Look for manufacturer guidance on battery choice and expected runtime rather than assuming all cordless nailers perform alike. Consider where you will work, since avoiding a compressor and hose may help in confined or remote areas. If framing is frequent, service instructions and access to compatible batteries deserve more weight in your decision.
Is the Metabo HPT kit a better choice than a bare-tool listing?
It may be a more convenient starting point if you do not already own compatible batteries and a charger. The product title identifies it as a kit, but you should still confirm exactly which accessories are included. If you already use a compatible platform, a bare tool can avoid buying equipment you do not need. Compare the kit contents, warranty, and battery compatibility rather than assuming the word “kit” means every useful accessory is supplied. Your existing tools and the work schedule matter more than the listing format by itself.
Conclusion
For best overall, I’d start with the Milwaukee M18 FUEL if you already own M18 batteries and want a 21-degree model. For a kit-oriented start, the Metabo HPT NR1890DRA is the clearest fit among these listings, subject to checking its included items. For best value, I’d look first at a standard tool-only option that matches a battery platform you already own, then compare the Craftsman listings carefully because one is marked renewed and both share a model identifier. For beginners, the Metabo HPT kit may reduce setup decisions, while a lighter commitment may come from an existing battery ecosystem. If you specifically need a 30-degree format, compare the 20-Volt 30° and ONE+ HP AirStrike against your nail supply and batteries; neither is a universal fit. Confirm current specifications, condition, warranty, and included accessories before settling on your pick.
Halloween Picks

10.5 ft Lighted Pumpkin and Ghost Halloween Inflatable Archway

Kalolary 12ft Halloween Witch Haunted House Inflatable Archway

10 ft Halloween Inflatable Archway with Built-in LEDs
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.










